Inquire Now

CSM Faculty Member Elected to ACEN Board of Commissioners

Friday, June 28, 2024

OMAHA, Neb. – A member of the College of Saint Mary faculty has been elected to the Board of Commissioners for the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).

Professor Kathleeen Zajic, EdD, RN, will serve as nurse educator representative-baccalaureate. Her three-year term will begin Oct. 1.

Christi Glesmann, EdD, RN, assistant dean for health sciences, said the prestigious appointment is a testament to Zajic’s exceptional dedication, expertise and leadership in the field of nursing.

“Kathleen Zajic has been an invaluable asset to our program, consistently demonstrating a commitment to excellence and a passion for advancing the quality of nursing education,” Glesmann said. “Her involvement with the ACEN Board of Commissioners will not only enhance her professional journey but also bring significant recognition and benefits to our institution.”

Zajic has accumulated extensive experience through her 40-year nursing career, emphasizing nursing education for the past 33 years at CSM.

With nearly 15 years of active involvement in the ACEN, Zajic has served as a peer evaluator, evaluation review panel member and former board member. During her tenure on the board, she served as vice chairperson and chaired various sub-committees, including a recent role on the search committee for the ACEN chief executive officer.

Zajic’s academic background includes a doctorate in education with an emphasis in health professions from CSM, a master’s degree in nursing from the University of Nebraska Medical Center, and a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Creighton University.

The Board of Commissioners is a governing board that ensures the financial resources of the ACEN, setting policies and having the sole authority to determine the accreditation status of nursing programs.