Inquire Now

College of Saint Mary Associate Dean Elected to Academic Resilience Consortium Steering Committee

Friday, January 27, 2023

Dr. Mindy Barna, associate dean for health professions at College of Saint Mary, was recently elected to serve on the Academic Resilience Consortium (ARC) steering committee. Dr. Barna will serve as treasurer.

The ARC is a global association comprised of more than 600 faculty, staff and students dedicated to promoting academic resilience in higher education, to help college students learn, grow, and reach their goals. The faculty, staff and students of the ARC represent the wide range of campus functions in higher education, including learning services, counseling services, advising programs, academic departments, campus life, and bridge programs, among others. 

ARC members represent more than 360 schools in 45 states and 17 countries. The members support one another in improving programming and pedagogy to remove system barriers to success.

“I want to reduce barriers to student success and identify ways to help our students navigate the multitude of challenges that they may face throughout their educational journey,” Dr. Barna said. “Students of today face complex problems, and we have to become equipped to help them develop the beliefs, attitudes and fortitude essential to navigating academia.”

The steering committee is responsible for growing membership and maintaining the virtual platform that allows members to share research, ideas, interventions, lessons learned, and material developed on their respective campuses. The committee also will convene several webinars, assist with providing members with referrals for consultations and speakers, and plan a conference that allows members to come together to address shared concerns and disseminate new research findings.

The nonprofit ARC began in 2014. The founding participants included representatives from Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Duke University, Harvard University, Princeton University, Stanford University, University of Chicago, and the University of Pennsylvania.