Inquire Now

More than 60 Nurses Recognized in CSM Pinning Ceremony

Wednesday, August 3, 2022

OMAHA, Neb. – College of Saint Mary (CSM) recognized and celebrated 61 nursing graduates at its annual Nurse Pinning Ceremony on Saturday, July 16, at the Lied Fitness Center. Each Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduate in the Class of 2022 received a pin as a symbolic welcome into the nursing profession. Pinning is a time-honored tradition in the nursing field, and every school designs its own unique pin for its students. CSM’s pin incorporates the shape of a cross bearing the gold letters BSN and CSM, and represents the virtues of worthiness, constancy, truth, loyalty, knowledge, and courage.

Dr. Christi Glesmann, director of CSM’s nursing program, presided over the ceremony. Anna Grace Hough ’22 led the invocation, Paige Hendrix ’22 was the student speaker, and Kristi Bleach ’22 said the closing prayer. Dr. Mindy Barna, associate dean of health professions, provided the closing remarks. During the ceremony, the students also recited the nursing pledge.

“It’s a privilege to bestow these pins and welcome our graduates into the nursing profession,” Dr. Glesmann said. “These students will make a difference in the lives of their patients with their kindness, compassion and the knowledge they acquired here at CSM.”

CSM recognizes two exemplary nursing students each year with the BSN Student of the Year Award and the Spirit of Nursing Award. Tiffany Sammons of Omaha was named BSN Student of the Year for her support of her peers, leadership in the college community and excellence in the clinical setting. Angela Buscher of Bellevue, Neb., received the Spirit of Nursing Award for representing CSM’s missions through her commitment to nursing, academic excellence and caring and professionalism in the workplace.

A reception was held following the ceremony.

BSN Class of 2022

Amelia Becker, Auburn, Neb.

Kristi Bleach, Elkhorn, Neb.

Ofelia Brachle, Omaha

Alexius Brass, Elkhorn, Neb.

Angela Buscher, Bellevue, Neb.

Kristin Caine, Omaha

Olivia Christensen, Omaha

Kelsey Crum, Omaha

Lorrie Deriphonse, Omaha

Quynh Dinh, Omaha

Ashlynn Eckrich, Neola, Iowa

Gretchen Flynn, Omaha

Trinity Fox, Nebraska City, Neb.

Tiffany Frank, Neola, Iowa

Prisca Gitau, Tacoma, Wash.

Irene Gonzalez, Ralston, Neb.

Beatriz Gonzalez-Velazquez, Omaha

McKenzie Goodman, Bellevue, Neb.

Callie Gorecki, Boelus, Neb.

Assa Haidara, Omaha

Paige Hendrix, Omaha

Casey Hirschfeld, Papillion, Neb.

Emma Hofmaier, Gretna, Neb.

Taylor Hotz, Council Bluffs, Iowa

Anna Grace Hough, Neola, Iowa

Alexis Howe, Omaha

Thespina Hurst, Papillion, Neb.

Emily Jacobson, La Vista, Neb.

Atalia Kemp, Omaha

Nicole Knight, Omaha

Kylie Kruse, Omaha

Bontle Letlole, Omaha

Marissa McGargill, Papillion, Neb.

Abigail Michael, Bellevue, Neb.

Devyn Moore, Oakland, Iowa

Madeline Nekola, Bellevue, Neb.

Virginia Noyes, Omaha

Maria Olvera, Omaha

Alysha Owen, Omaha

Kelsie Parrish, Omaha

Ava Pavlik, Omaha

Brooke Podolak, Columbus, Neb.

Megan Pursche, Fremont, Neb.

Alexis Rozendal, Grand Island, Neb.

Bianca Salazar, Lincoln

Tiffany Sammons, Omaha

Allyson Smith, Bellevue

Serena Smith, Omaha

Megan Soltys, Omaha

Karyme Sosa-Martinez, Omaha

Miranda Spatz, Brainard, Neb.

Jasmine Steffes, Gretna, Neb.

Marissa Sunderman, Plattsmouth, Neb.

Kailey Tarkett, Omaha

Lucy Tee, Omaha

Jordyn Whitmire, Bellevue

Brooklyn Wilke, Columbus, Neb.

Lauren Williams, Bellevue

Regi Zakrzewski, Columbus, Neb.

Sara Zimmerman, Springfield, Neb.

Andrea Ziska, Omaha