Inquire Now

Nearly 60 nurses recognized during 2019 pinning ceremony

Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2019

OMAHA, Neb. – College of Saint Mary (CSM) celebrated its annual Nurse Pinning Ceremony on July 20th.  At the ceremony, each Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduate in the Class of 2019 received a pin as a symbolic welcome into the nursing profession.  Pinning is a time-honored tradition in the nursing field, and every school designs its own special pin for its students. The pin for College of Saint Mary incorporates the shape of a cross and represents the virtues of loyalty, courage, knowledge, worthiness, constancy, and truth.

Dr. Christi Glesmann, director of the nursing program at CSM, presided over the ceremony. Shelby Vejvoda ’19 gave the student reflection. Amy Peck ’19 led the invocation, and Whitney Turok ’19 said the closing prayer. Dr. Maryanne Stevens, RSM, president of College of Saint Mary, delivered the closing remarks.

“I know each of you in this particular class will be successful,” said Dr. Stevens in her address to the graduates. “I also know that all nurses, especially those educated here at College of Saint Mary, demonstrate ‘the kind word, the gentle, compassionate look and the patient hearing of sorrows’ emphasized by Catherine McAuley, the foundress of the Sisters of Mercy.” 

Nearly all 57 nursing students who graduated this summer attended the special event. During the ceremony, the nursing graduates also recited the nursing pledge. 

Each year, College of Saint Mary recognizes two exemplary nursing students with the BSN Student of the Year Award and the Spirit of Nursing Award. Shelby Vejvoda was selected as the BSN Student of the Year for her support of her peers, leadership in the college community and excellence in the clinical setting. The honor of the Spirit of Nursing Award went to Mia Kielian. Mia received this recognition for representing the mission of CSM through her commitment to nursing, academic excellence and caring and professionalism in the workplace.

BSN Class of 2019

  • Awate Aminzason
  • Alexa Anderson
  • Dania Cervantes Ayala
  • Alicia Baca
  • Madison Barkley
  • Nicole Boisselle
  • Alexis Burns
  • Kirstin Callaway
  • Kennedy Cascio
  • Whitney Chamberlain
  • Cheyenne Cordova
  • Whitney Davis
  • Melissa Diamond
  • Halwa Diriye
  • Yuriana Diaz Dominguez
  • Marie-Emmanuella Ehoussou
  • Alougba Gnonse-Padonou
  • Fatima Gonzalez-Espinoza
  • Brittany Hancock
  • Sadia Hasan
  • Margaret Hiatt
  • Catherine Jansen
  • Jordan Johnson
  • Mia Kielian
  • Erin Laford
  • Emily Ludwig
  • Allison Majerus
  • Tracey Maloley
  • Vannessa Martinez
  • Katherine McDonald
  • Jillian McGranaghan
  • Ogulbagt Narova
  • Courtney Nelsen
  • Ashley Nelson
  • Rylie Orton
  • Amy Peck
  • Korin Phillips
  • Jessica Pongratz
  • Amy Riley
  • Amanda Rischling
  • Alexandria Roth
  • Katrina Salmon
  • Teresa Shaw
  • Kylee Soulliere
  • Chelsea Spenner
  • Kathryn Steffes
  • Ashley Tagart
  • Haylee Teutsch
  • Jessica Thurber
  • Aunalea Timpe
  • Whitney Turok
  • Shelby Vejvoda
  • Sidney Whelan
  • Shamaila Williams
  • Taryn Williams
  • Alyssa Wilson
  • Kristin Wise